Nominations open for 16th Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards
Marc Bloomfield
Description: LALY logo for LALY items on Librios
Nominations are now open for the Legal Aid Practitioners Group’s Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards 2018. There are 12 categories in all, including the new practice manager of the year award, which, says LAPG director Carol Storer, will recognise those who ‘are often the bedrock of the sector, providing the leadership and stability which allow legal aid lawyers to continue to deliver access to justice to clients’.
This year is the third time the legal aid newcomer award will be sponsored via crowdfunding, with donations from Friends of LALY18 helping towards the cost of the event and keeping ticket prices affordable.
The 2018 award categories in full are:
children's rights;
criminal defence;
family (including mediation);
public law;
social and welfare;
legal aid newcomer;
legal aid barrister;
practice manager;
legal aid firm/not-for-profit agency;
access to justice through IT; and
outstanding achievement.
Nominations must be submitted online, and close on 10 April. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in central London on 17 July.

About the author(s)

Description: LAG
A national, independent charity, promoting equal access to justice for all members of society who are socially, economically or otherwise...