LAPG opens nominations for LALYs 2019
Marc Bloomfield
Nominations are now open for the 17th Legal Aid Practitioners Group’s Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards 2019. There are 12 categories in all, which recognise and celebrate the outstanding and life-changing work of legal aid lawyers and those managing organisations that carry out legal aid work.
This year, the profession is again given a chance to support the legal aid newcomer award via crowdfunding, with donations from Friends of LALY19 helping towards the cost ofthe event and keeping ticket prices affordable.
The 2019 award categories are:
children’s rights;
criminal defence;
family (including mediation);
mental health;
public law;
social welfare;
legal aid newcomer;
legal aid barrister;
practice manager;
legal aid firm/not-for-profit agency;
access to justice through IT; and
outstanding achievement.
Nominations must be submitted online, and close at the end of April. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in central London on 10 July.

About the author(s)

Description: LAG
A national, independent charity, promoting equal access to justice for all members of society who are socially, economically or otherwise...